Four of the best: Ronaldo’s tale in football

Four of the best: Ronaldo’s tale in football

The short story about Cristiano Ronaldo dos Santos Aveiro, four times winner of the Ballon d’Or, the world’s best footballer between 2008 and 2017. A unique player with amazing dribbling skills, who writes history in football year after year. During the golden era of football, Ronaldo was one of the four great players that marked this era: Ronaldo Nazario (Brazil), Luis Figo (Portugal), Zinedine Zidane (France) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal). Who will be the next Cristiano Ronaldo?

Ballon d’Or, FIFA World Player of the Year
The FIFA Ballon d’Or, is an annual association football award presented to its winner by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), since 2010 named The Best FIFA Men’s Player. It had been awarded to the world’s best men’s player from 2010 to 2015. From 1956 to 2009, a panel of international media representatives determined both winners of and finalists for FIFA World Player of the Year; since 2010 it has been exclusively awarded by FIFA. It was superseded by Ballon d’Or in 2010. Cristiano Ronaldo won five times while Lionel Messi won four times. Two players have won three times each – Johan Cruyff of Netherlands and Michel Platini of France. They are followed by current French midfielder Zinedine Zidane with three awards and Brazilian forward Pelé who has two awards. There have been seven 3-time winners: Johan Cruyff, Marco van Basten, Michel Platini, Zinedine Zidane, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ronaldinho and Lionel Messi. Only one woman, Marta of Brazil, has ever won either award. She won FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year nine times out of ten nominations between 2006 and 2015 inclusive. Birgit Prinz holds both records among women for most nominations as well as most wins with six Awards in total all together.
The youngest recipient of FIFA Ballon d’Or was Renato Sanches when he was 18 years old on 2016. He beat previous record holder Freddy Adu who became a professional footballer at age 14 years and 342 days on 2007 when he earned his first cap for United States national team against Canada national team on 6 February 2007.

European Golden Shoe
Awarded by UEFAPOPA to the player who scores most goals in Europe during a calendar year. The list below gives details on all players that have won since 2001–02, when it was first awarded. Only three players have ever won it twice (İlkay Gündoğan, Radamel Falcao and Cristiano Ronaldo). As well as sharing his first name with its award namesake, Real Madrid player Cristiano Ronaldo has also mirrored its success as he has won it four times consecutively from 2013-14 to 2016-17. No other player has achieved winning it more than once. Two former Juventus F.C. players were joint winners of it in 2006–07 – Zlatan Ibrahimović and Fabio Quagliarella – both with 18 goals each; though they never played together at Juve, having been transferred to Milan A.C.

FIFA Ballon d’Or winner
Cristiano Ronaldo was named FIFA World Player of the Year for 2008, before adding a second award in 2013. It caps an outstanding 12 months for both player and club after he helped Manchester United win a hat-trick of titles. He netted 42 goals during 2007-08 – including his first ever Champions League hat-trick against Porto – and scored 31 goals during 2008-09 as United retained their Premier League crown. Perhaps his most famous strike came with a last-minute header against Everton to secure victory at Old Trafford in April 2009, while later that year he proved pivotal as Portugal reached the final stages of Euro 2012. That summer, he inspired them to glory at UEFA EURO 2016, netting four times en route to winning the Golden Boot. As well as scooping five Ballon d’Or awards in total, Ronaldo has also been voted FIFA Player of the Year on three occasions (2008, 2013 and 2014). In addition to all these accolades, CR7 has also been honoured by FIFPro as World XI Player of the Year on three occasions (2014-16), making him one of only two players – along with Lionel Messi – to have won it more than once. I feel proud, said Ronaldo upon receiving his third gong. I’m just at my prime. Indeed!

Spanish La Liga top scorer
There’s arguably no player on earth who has benefited more from social media than Cristiano Ronaldo. His Real Madrid exploits are documented and documented ad nauseam by what seems like a global army of photographers, videographers and tweeters. But outside that bubble, as he was unceremoniously dumped out of Euro 2016 with Portugal, his spotlight dimmed for a bit. Now at an age when most players have already retired or are years away from hanging up their boots, he’s still conquering new territory—first China with a $600 million transfer deal to play for Shanghai SIPG FC, then to Italy where Juventus paid up $112 million to bring him to Turin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.